MBL Announces Season Honors

A week removed from the Midwest Basketball League Playoffs, the MBL has announced its season awards honoring the best of the league in the 2018 season. The Cedar Valley CourtKings took home three honors individually.

In his first season in the Cedar Valley, former William Penn standout Brady Burford was named the league’s most valuable player. In 15 games of action, Burford led the team in scoring with 23.3 points per game while also leading the CourtKings in rebounding with 8.8 per game. Burford was additionally selected as one of two CourtKings to participate in the MBL All-Star Game on Saturday, August 11 in Indiana.

Guard Marcus Smith was named Sixth Man of the Year for his stellar performance in his first season with the CourtKings. Starting in 18 games, Smith averaged 10.4 points, 2.9 rebounds, and 2.7 assists. Additionally, Smith was named to the MBL All-Star team representing the Western Conference.

In the front office, CourtKings owner and general manager Gary Rima was named the league’s Executive of the Year. Rima, who helped build the team that would post the best regular season record in the league at 15-1, wins the award for the third consecutive year.

All MBL awards announced are listed below. Congratulations to all the CourtKings honored by the league this season!

MBL Champions: T.C. Elite

MBL Championship Game MVP: Antonio Berry (T.C. Elite)


Most Valuable Player: Brady Burford (Cedar Valley CourtKings)

Rookie of the Year: Michael Chandler (Springfield Panthers)

Defensive Player of the Year: Adam Wright (Minnesota Broncos)

Sixth Man of the Year: Marcus Smith (Cedar Valley CourtKings)

Most Improved Organizations: Indiana Fury, Minnesota Broncos, Springfield Panthers,

                                                              Chicago Fury, Chicago Knights

Coach of the Year: Tamara Moore (T.C. Elite)

Executive of the Year: Gary Rima (Cedar Valley CourtKings)


MBL Superfan of the Year: Gene Hinders (Cedar Valley CourtKings)


MBL Western Conference All-Stars

Elijah Sabah, AJ Wilson, CJ Parker (T.C. Elite)

Brady Burford, Marcus Smith (Cedar Valley CourtKings)

Dominique Dawson, Meech Williams (Minnesota Lakers)

Lemuel Doe, Joe Carpenter (Rochester Roadrunners)

Kavaarian Williams, Alejandro Richardson (Minnesota Broncos)

Denzel Walker, Michael Chandler (Springfield Panthers)

Coach: Tamara Moore (T.C. Elite)


MBL Eastern Conference All-Stars

Reggie Lytle, De’Marien Smith (Fort Wayne Vision)

Antonio Wilson (Chicago Knights)

Darrius Davis, Tracy Ganow (Indy Show)

Latorreo Tolbert, Reggie Gallion (Chicago Legends)

Kenny Council, Daquan Walker (Dayton AirStrikers)

Charles Porter, Robert Calemese, Tommie Ramsey, Dennis Robinson

Coach: Carlos Derrick (Fort Wayne Vision)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *